Congratulations to the 2023 APS Award Recipients

APS honors Members in the earliest stages of their careers as well as accomplished leaders with the field’s most prestigious awards and recognitions.

This recognition is a critical part of supporting and encouraging scientific advances in our field. The dramatic advances in psychological science over the past three decades reflect the outstanding accomplishments of APS Members and Fellows.

2023 APS Award Recipients

2023 APS James McKeen Cattell Fellow Award

Honoring APS Members for their lifetime of significant intellectual achievements in applied psychological research and their impact on a critical problem in society at large.

Gene H. Brody, University of Georgia
Michelle G. Craske, University of California, Los Angeles
Eduardo Salas, Rice University

2023 APS James S. Jackson Lifetime Achievement Award for Transformative Scholarship

Honoring APS Members for their lifetime of outstanding psychological research that advances understanding of historically disadvantaged racial and ethnic groups and/or understanding of the psychological and societal benefits of racial/ethnic diversity, equity, and inclusion. 

Sandra Graham, University of California, Los Angeles
Janet E. Helms, Boston College

2023 APS Mentor Award

Recognizing APS Members who have significantly fostered the careers of others, honoring those who masterfully help students and others find their own voices and discover their own research and career goals.

Mahzarin R. Banaji, Harvard University
Stephen P. Hinshaw, University of California, Berkeley
Ellen M. Markman, Stanford University
Nora S. Newcombe, Temple University
Robert M. Sellers, University of Michigan

2023 APS William James Fellow Award

Honoring APS Members for their lifetime of significant intellectual contributions to the basic science of psychology.

Kent C. Berridge, University of Michigan
Angela D. Friederici, Max Planck Institute for Human Cognitive and Brain Sciences
Vonnie C. McLoyd, University of Michigan

2023 APS Janet Taylor Spence Award for Transformative Early Career Contributions

Recognizing APS members who have made transformative early-career contributions to psychological science.

Riana Elyse Anderson, University of Michigan
Hengchen Dai, UCLA Anderson School of Management
Emily Fyfe, Indiana University
Julian Jara-Ettinger, Yale University
Calvin Lai, Washington University in St. Louis
Ed O’Brien, The University of Chicago Booth School of Business

Lifetime Achievement Award for Service and Leadership

A special award honoring a lifetime of service to the field of psychological science.

Alan G. Kraut, APS Founding Executive Director