APS James McKeen Cattell Fellow Award

The APS James McKeen Cattell Fellow Award recognizes APS members for a lifetime of outstanding contributions to the area of applied psychological research. Recipients must be APS members whose research addresses a critical problem in society at large. Honorees are recognized annually at the APS Convention.

APS’s lifetime achievement awards are not exclusive. In other words, an exceptional psychological scientist might be awarded all of them.

Submit an APS James McKeen Cattell Fellow Award Nomination

View a list of Past Award Recipients

APS James McKeen Cattell Fellow Award Committee

David Clark (Chair),
University of Oxford

Phoebe Ellsworth,
University of Michigan

Roberta Golinkoff,
University of Delaware

Richard Liu,
Massachusetts General Hospital/Harvard Medical School

Eric-Jan Wagenmakers,
University of Amsterdam

2023 Award Recipients

Gene H. Brody

University of Georgia

Gene Brody is a Regents’ Professor in the Center for Family Research at the University of Georgia. His work has changed the landscape of developmental, health, and prevention science by demonstrating its potential for narrowing social and racial disparities in health and well-being. In addition, his prospective investigations of resilience among Black Americans have set a standard for conducting research with historically underrepresented populations that focuses on strengths rather than deficits and uses ecologically and culturally sensitive methods. Brody’s renowned work in the development of family-centered prevention programs has been shown to deter youth engagement in risky activities and promote mental and physical health. He has helped many youths in their journey through adolescence by identifying factors in support networks that buffer them from the consequences of chronic environmental stress. No less notable are his theoretical contributions to psychology, wherein he demonstrated how resilience is only “skin-deep” for some Black youth.  

Michelle G. Craske

University of California, Los Angeles

Michelle Craske is a professor of psychology and of psychiatry and biobehavioral sciences at the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA). She is also director of UCLA’s Anxiety and Depression Research Center and co-director of the UCLA Depression Grand Challenge. A leading clinical scientist working in the broad area of fear, anxiety, and depression, her extensive list of publications includes more than 570 peer-reviewed journal articles as well as many academic, clinical, and self-help books. Throughout her career, Craske has demonstrated an immense scope of influence in psychological science. She ran a phobia and anxiety disorders clinic at the State University of New York at Albany and has gained international recognition for her research on panic, fear, and avoidance. As co-director of the UCLA Depression Grand Challenge, she developed the STAND (screening, tracking and treating anxiety and depression) program providing students with free and accessible mental health resources.  

Eduardo Salas

Rice University

A leading expert in the area of team science, Eduardo Salas is a professor and Allyn R. and Gladys M. Cline Chair of Psychology at Rice University. His work developing evidence-based principles to help organizations design, develop, deploy, and manage teams has resulted in significant benefits to society and multiple applied domains. Salas’s research seeks to uncover what facilitates teamwork and team effectiveness in organizations; how and why team training works; how to optimize simulation-based training; how to design, implement and evaluate training and development systems; how to create a safety culture; and how to generate evidence-based guidance for those in practice. The broad impact of his research in teamwork and training is demonstrated in projects with multiple government agencies and industries including aviation, law enforcement, disaster management, space exploration, and health care.