APS Janet Taylor Spence Award for Transformative Early Career Contributions

Deadline: September 15, 2021

This is a photo of Janet Taylor Spence.

The APS Janet Taylor Spence Award recognizes APS members who have made transformative early career contributions to psychological science.

Research contributions can be transformative in various ways, such as the establishment of new approaches or paradigms within a field of psychological science, or the development or advancement of boundary-crossing research.  Award recipients reflect the best of the many new and cutting edge ideas coming from of our most creative and promising investigators who together embody the future of psychological science.

Recipients of the APS Janet Taylor Spence Award are recognized at a special symposium at the APS Annual Convention.

Submit Nominations | Past APS Spence Award Recipients  | Janet Taylor Spence | Remembering Janet Taylor Spence

2021 Spence Award Recipients

Seven Psychological Scientists Receive 2021 APS Janet Taylor Spence Award for Transformative Early-Career Contributions

Arielle Baskin-Sommers
Yale University

Sudeep Bhatia
University of Pennsylvania

Eiko Fried
Leiden University

Celeste Kidd
University of California, Berkeley

Steven Roberts
Stanford University

Daisy Singla
University of Toronto
and Sinai Health

Diana Tamir
Princeton University

The first awards were conferred by Spence herself in May 2010 at the APS 22nd Annual Convention.

APS Janet Taylor Spence Award Committee
Reeshad S. Dalal (Chair), George Mason University
Anne Cutler, Western Sydney University
Willem Frankenhuis, Utrecht University
Kurt Gray, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Tania Lombrozo, Princeton University
Dean Mobbs, California Institute of Technology
Robb Rutledge, Yale University