2020 APS Spence Recipients Announced

Eight psychological scientists have been selected as the recipients of the 2020 APS Janet Taylor Spence Award. The recipients are Dylan Gee (Yale University), who studies the neural mechanisms underlying emotion, anxiety, and stress-related disorders; Samuel Gershman (Harvard University), who studies computational modeling and reinforcement learning; Hyowon Gweon (Stanford University), who studies social learning and causal inferences; Kathryn Humphreys (Vanderbilt University), who studies the effects of early adversity, foster care, and institutional care; Luke Hyde (University of Michigan), who studies the developmental psychopathology of antisocial behavior in youth; Nour Kteily (Northwestern University), who studies how dehumanization contributes to in-group out-group behavior; Amitai Shenhav (Brown University), who studies computational neuroscience, decision-making, and neuroeconomics; and Jennifer Trueblood (Vanderbilt University), who studies how context influences risk-reward decision making.

Named for APS’s first elected President, the Spence Award recognizes early-career researchers who have made transformative contributions to the field of psychological science, such as establishing new paradigms within a subject area or advancing research that cuts across fields of study. The 2020 Spence Award recipients will be profiled in an upcoming issue of the APS Observer and will be recognized at the 32nd APS Annual Convention in Chicago, May 21–24, 2020.

APS regularly opens certain online articles for discussion on our website. Effective February 2021, you must be a logged-in APS member to post comments. By posting a comment, you agree to our Community Guidelines and the display of your profile information, including your name and affiliation. Any opinions, findings, conclusions, or recommendations present in article comments are those of the writers and do not necessarily reflect the views of APS or the article’s author. For more information, please see our Community Guidelines.

Please login with your APS account to comment.