American Academy of Arts and Sciences Welcomes Six Psychological Scientists

Congratulations to six APS Fellows recently elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Some of the world’s most accomplished scholars, scientists, writers, artists, and civic, corporate, and philanthropic leaders make up this year’s class of 198, including:

Robert A. Bjork, a University of California, Los Angeles, psychology professor and APS Past
President has made fundamental contributions to the science of learning and memory;

Alison Gopnik, University of California, Berkeley, is a prominent scholar of learning and child development;

Charles A. Nelson, III, Harvard Medical School and Boston Children’s Hospital, employs behavioral, electrophysiological (ERP), and metabolic (MRI) tools in his study of both typically developing children and children at risk for neurodevelopmental disorders;

Laurence D. Steinberg, Temple University, is one of the world’s leading authorities on
psychological development during adolescence;

Barbara Tversky, Columbia University, is a leading authority in the areas of visual-spatial reasoning and collaborative cognition; and

Terrence Sejnowski, Salk Institute for Biological Studies, has conducted pioneering research in neural networks and computational neuroscience.

The American Academy is one of the oldest and most prestigious honorary societies and a leading center for independent policy research in the United States. The new class will be inducted at a ceremony on October 12 at the Academy’s headquarters in Cambridge, Massachusetts.


APS regularly opens certain online articles for discussion on our website. Effective February 2021, you must be a logged-in APS member to post comments. By posting a comment, you agree to our Community Guidelines and the display of your profile information, including your name and affiliation. Any opinions, findings, conclusions, or recommendations present in article comments are those of the writers and do not necessarily reflect the views of APS or the article’s author. For more information, please see our Community Guidelines.

Please login with your APS account to comment.