Members in the Media
From: NPR

Cognitive Science Honors Its Pioneers And Leaders


Every year in mid- to late summer, cognitive scientists from around the world gather expectantly in a hotel foyer or a university courtyard, eager to learn that year’s winner of the David E. Rumelhart Prize. Established in 2001, the yearly award honors “an individual or collaborative team making a significant contemporary contribution to the theoretical foundations of human cognition.” The award includes $100,000 and a custom bronze medal. It’s the closest thing you’ll find to a Nobel Prize in cognitive science, the interdisciplinary study of the mind that arose after the “cognitive revolution” of the 1950s and 60s.

This year’s winner, announced last Friday in Quebec City at the annual meeting of the Cognitive Science Society, is Michael Jordan. (No, not that Michael Jordan.)

Read the whole story: NPR

More of our Members in the Media >

APS regularly opens certain online articles for discussion on our website. Effective February 2021, you must be a logged-in APS member to post comments. By posting a comment, you agree to our Community Guidelines and the display of your profile information, including your name and affiliation. Any opinions, findings, conclusions, or recommendations present in article comments are those of the writers and do not necessarily reflect the views of APS or the article’s author. For more information, please see our Community Guidelines.

Please login with your APS account to comment.