Influential Researcher Holzman Dies at 82

On June 1, 2004 Philip S. Holzman died at the age of 82. Holzman was an APS Fellow and Charter Member, founder and director of McLean Hospital’s Psychology Research Laboratory, and one of the world’s preeminent scientists in schizophrenia research.

Holzman began his career at McLean in 1977, focusing on the investigation of psychotic illnesses, particularly schizophrenia. His landmark studies of oculomotor function documented the presence of abnormal smooth pursuit eye movements in individuals with schizophrenia and their clinically unaffected relatives.

Born in New York City, Holzman earned his bachelor’s degree from the College of the City of New York and his doctoral degree from the University of Kansas. He trained at the Menninger Foundation School of Clinical Psychology and the Winter Veterans Administration Hospital in Topeka Kansas, as well as at the Topeka Institute for Psychoanalysis. From 1946 to 1968 he was on the staff of the Menninger Foundation, where he also served as Director of Research Training.

In 1968, Holzman became a professor in the departments of psychology and psychiatry at The University of Chicago. He was also a professor of psychology at Harvard University and of psychiatry at Harvard Medical School.

Among his many professional honors, Holzman was a member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences, a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and a member of the Board of Trustees of the Menninger Foundation.

Holzman is survived by Ann Holzman, his wife of 58 years; his children Natalie Bernardoni, Carl Holzman and Paul Holzman.

APS Fellows Named Radcliffe Fellows

Anthony G. Greenwald
Irene Maxine Pepperberg

APS Fellows Anthony G. Greenwald, University of Washington, and Irene Maxine Pepperberg, Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Brandeis University, were recently named 2004-2005 Radcliffe fellows.

“The purpose of a residential fellowship is to bring artists and scholars together to interact in ways that will change both them and their work,” said Drew Gilpin Faust, dean of the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study.

Greenwald and Pepperberg are among the 46 men and women who will spend the year at Radcliffe, working individually and across disciplines on projects chosen for both quality and long-term impact. The fellows comprise a diverse population of creative artists, humanists, social scientists, and scientists from 30 institutions and seven countries.

Greenwald, an experimental psychologist, will work with APS Fellow, Charter Member, and former Board Member Mahzarin Banaji, Harvard University, as well as other Radcliffe fellows on issues concerning unconscious prejudice and the law. For more information, visit

Blackwell Gets Personnel

Milt Hakel
Personnel Psychology
Personnel Psychology

Blackwell Publishing announced the acquisition of Personnel Psychology in the summer of 2004. APS Fellow and Charter Member Ann Marie Ryan, Michigan State University, is the journal’s editor, and APS Charter Members Murray A. Barrick, University of Iowa, and Nancy T. Tippins, Personal Research Associates, Inc, are associate editors.

Personnel Psychology is an outstanding scholarly publication,” said Blackwell CEO René Olivieri. Personnel Psychology ranked seventh out of 49 journals in applied psychology, according to the 2003 ISI social science citation report.

“Many authors, reviewers, and editors have built Personnel Psychology into its leading role in the field,” said Milton D. Hakel, the journal’s former publisher. Hakel, Bowling Green State University, is an APS Fellow, Charter Member, and former Board Member. Access to the journal will be available online via Blackwell Synergy, at

Cartwright Honored for Sleep Research

APS Member Rosalind D. Cartwright, Rush University Medical Center, has been selected as the recipient of the Sleep Research Society’s highest honor, the Distinguished Scientist Award for 2004. Cartwright was chosen as the recipient based on her lifetime work as well as new treatments she developed to control snoring and mild sleep apnea. The award was presented at the SRS’s annual meeting.

APS regularly opens certain online articles for discussion on our website. Effective February 2021, you must be a logged-in APS member to post comments. By posting a comment, you agree to our Community Guidelines and the display of your profile information, including your name and affiliation. Any opinions, findings, conclusions, or recommendations present in article comments are those of the writers and do not necessarily reflect the views of APS or the article’s author. For more information, please see our Community Guidelines.

Please login with your APS account to comment.