Congratulations to the 2022 APS Award recipients

APS honors Members in the earliest stages of their careers as well as accomplished leaders with the field’s most prestigious awards and recognitions.

This recognition is a critical part of supporting and encouraging scientific advances in our field. The dramatic advances in psychological science over the past three decades reflect the outstanding accomplishments of APS Members and Fellows.

Inaugural 2022 APS James S. Jackson Fellow Award

Honoring APS Members for their lifetime of outstanding psychological research that advances understanding of historically disadvantaged racial and ethnic groups and/or understanding of the psychological and societal benefits of racial/ethnic diversity, equity, and inclusion. 

Patricia Gurin, University of Michigan
James M. Jones, University of Delaware

2022 APS William James Fellow Award

Honoring APS Members for their lifetime of significant intellectual contributions to the basic science of psychology.

Dedre Gentner, Northwestern University
Alison Gopnik, University of California, Berkeley
Trevor Robbins, University of Cambridge
James H. Sidanius (Posthumous Award), Harvard University

2022 APS James McKeen Cattell Fellow Award

Honoring APS Members for their lifetime of significant intellectual achievements in applied psychological research and their impact on a critical problem in society at large.

Mahzarin R. Banaji & Anthony G. Greenwald, Harvard University & University of Washington
Claude M. Steele, Stanford University
Laurence Steinberg, Temple University

2022 APS Mentor Award

Recognizing APS Members who have significantly fostered the careers of others, honoring those who masterfully help students and others find their own voices and discover their own research and career goals.

Susan E. Carey, Harvard University
Serena Chen, University of California, Berkeley
Kazuo Mori, Matsumoto University
Anna (Kia) C. Nobre, University of Oxford
Henry M. Wellman, University of Michigan

2022 APS Janet Taylor Spence Award for Transformative Early Career Contributions

Recognizing APS members who have made transformative early-career contributions to psychological science.

Brian Anderson, Texas A&M University
Oriel FeldmanHall, Brown University
Brett Ford, University of Toronto
Antonia Kaczkurkin, Vanderbilt University
Neil Lewis, Jr., Cornell University
Patricia Lockwood, University of Birmingham
Jason Okonofua, University of California, Berkeley
Kai Chi (Sam) Yam, National University of Singapore