Eleven APS Fellows Elected to American Academy of Arts & Sciences

The American Academy of Arts & Sciences has announced the election of more than 200 new members, including 11 APS Fellows. The 2019 class includes APS Past Board Member and James McKeen Cattell Fellow Stephen J. Ceci (Cornell University), and APS Mentor Award Recipient Mark H. Johnson (University of Cambridge) was named an international honorary member.

Ceci — who studies the development of intelligence and memory as well the accuracy of children’s courtroom testimony — is the author of approximately 450 articles, books, commentaries, reviews, and chapters. He has also studied women’s underrepresentation in science, and was a lead author on a 2014 report on that topic in Psychological Science in the Public Interest.

Johnson has published more than 10 books on brain and cognitive development in human infants, children, and other species. His work focuses on typical, at-risk, and atypical functional brain development in human infants and toddlers.

Other APS Fellows elected to the Academy are Marlene Behrmann, Carnegie Mellon University; Jennifer Crocker, The Ohio State University; Michele J. Gelfand, University of Maryland; Jonathan Haidt, New York University; Keith J. Holyoak, University of California, Los Angeles; Brenda Major, University of California, Santa Barbara; Roy D. Pea, Stanford University; John T. Wixted, University of California, San Diego; and Jeremy M. Wolfe, Harvard Medical School. Psychological scientists Susan R. Goldman, (University of Illinois at Chicago) and Margaret Beale Spencer (University of Chicago) are also new members.

The scientists are among an accomplished group of scholars, writers, artists, and civic, corporate, and philanthropic leaders newly elected to the academy. The 2019 class includes former First Lady Michelle Obama, former Indiana Governor Mitchell E. Daniels, Jr., former Massachusetts Governor Deval Patrick, journalist James M. Fallows of The Atlantic; and actress and playwright Anna Deavere Smith.

The Academy, founded in 1780, is both an honorary society that recognizes and celebrates the excellence of its members and an independent research center convening leaders from across disciplines, professions, and perspectives. The new class will be inducted at a ceremony in October at the Academy’s headquarters in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

APS regularly opens certain online articles for discussion on our website. Effective February 2021, you must be a logged-in APS member to post comments. By posting a comment, you agree to our Community Guidelines and the display of your profile information, including your name and affiliation. Any opinions, findings, conclusions, or recommendations present in article comments are those of the writers and do not necessarily reflect the views of APS or the article’s author. For more information, please see our Community Guidelines.

Please login with your APS account to comment.