APS Fellow Nominations

About Fellow Status | Full Directory of Fellows

Nomination Deadline: October 1, 2023

Nominations will open in mid-2024.

Fellow status is awarded to APS members who have made sustained outstanding contributions to the science of psychology in the areas of research, teaching, service, and/or application. Fellow status is typically awarded for one’s scientific contributions, but may also be awarded for exceptional contributions to the field through the development of research opportunities and settings. Researchers who have an outstanding record of mentoring students from diverse backgrounds, working with research participants from diverse backgrounds, and making outstanding contributions to diversity and inclusion within the field of psychological science qualify for consideration.

Candidates will be considered after 10 years of postdoctoral contribution. A committee consisting of APS Fellows from the diverse sub-disciplines of psychology reviews nominations. The committee will notify nominators of the results.

To nominate a candidate for APS Fellow status, please include the following materials:

  • A 1-2 page letter of nomination specifying why the candidate is judged to have made sustained outstanding contributions to the field of psychological science.
  • Complete electronic curriculum vitae of the candidate. (PDF preferred)
  • Two additional 1-2-page letters of support from outstanding contributors to scientific psychology familiar with the nominee’s work. (Three total letters should be submitted: one letter of nomination and two letters of support.) Please do not submit more than two letters of support.

Note: Beginning with nominations submitted in 2024, eligibility for nomination will require an individual to have been a member of APS for 3 of the previous 4 years (i.e., for a nomination submitted in 2024, the nominee must have been a member during at least 3 calendar years since January 1, 2021). Information on how to verify eligibility will be provided when the 2024 nominations open.

Please consider the diverse and international nature of our field in nominating colleagues. Nominations of members of underrepresented groups in psychological science are encouraged.

Questions? Email [email protected].

APS Fellows Committee

Richard Ivry, Chair
University of California, Berkeley
M. Teresa Bajo, Member
University of Granada
Shihui Han, Member
Peking University
Catherine Hartley, Member
New York University
Marigold Linton, Member
University of Kansas
Taciano Milfont, Member
University of Waikato
Yuri Miyamoto, Member
Graduate School of Social Sciences, Hitotsubashi University
Thomas Olino, Member
Temple University
Christina Shalley, Member
Georgia Tech
Fei Xu, Member
University of California, Berkeley