Janet Taylor Spence Award

For Transformative Early Career Contributions

Deadline: October 15, 2016

Spence_JanetThe APS Janet Taylor Spence Award recognizes transformative early career contributions to psychological science.

Research contributions can be transformative in various ways, such as the establishment of new approaches or paradigms within a field of psychology, or the development or advancement of research that cuts across fields of psychological science. The common thread is that Award winners should reflect the best of the many new and cutting edge ideas coming out of our most creative and promising investigators who, together, embody the future of psychological science. The Janet Taylor Spence Award is given to at least five recipients yearly at the APS Annual Convention.

APS notes with great sadness the passing of Janet Taylor Spence in March 2015. A symposium in her honor was held during the 2016 APS Annual Convention in Chicago, IL, USA.

Nomination Information | Past Recipients


Janet Taylor Spence Award Committee

Iris-Tatjana Kolassa, Chair, University of Ulm, Germany
Talya N. Bauer, Portland State University
Cristina Cacciari, Universita di Modena e Reggio Emilia
William A. Cunningham, University of Toronto, Canada
Sheri L. Johnson, University of California, Berkeley
Deborah A. Kelemen, Boston University
Wendy Berry Mendes, University of California, San Francisco

Award Announcement

APS Spence Award Recognizes Early Career Achievement

The APS Board of Directors established the Janet Taylor Spence Award to recognize transformative contributions to psychological science by rising stars in the field. The Janet Taylor Spence Award for Transformative Early Career Contributions celebrates the many new and cutting edge ideas coming out of the most creative and promising investigators who embody the future of psychological science.

The Spence award recognizes young researchers who cross traditional sub-disciplinary lines in psychological science and honors contributions that reveal the organization underlying complex behavior by drawing upon multiple fields of psychological science.

This award is a fitting tribute to its namesake, Janet Taylor Spence, the first elected APS President. Spence’s career embodies transformative contributions to psychological science. She developed new approaches to research and pioneering tools including the Taylor Manifest Anxiety Scale and the Attitudes Toward Women Scale and she epitomized the spirit of crossing disciplinary boundaries with work on topics ranging from schizophrenia to developmental psychology to gender bias.

The award will be given to the most creative and promising young investigators, like Spence at the beginning of her career.

The first awards were conferred by Spence herself in May 2010 at the APS 22nd Annual Convention in Boston.