APS Honors 2012 Award Recipients

May 24, 2012

The 24th Annual APS Convention kicked off with a ceremony honoring the recipients of its 2012 awards for 2012.

APS President Douglas L. Medin of Northwestern University welcomed the nearly 4,000 psychological scientists attending the convention.

Richard Heimberg, from Temple University, president of the Society for the Study of Clinical Psychology, presented the society's Distinguished Scientist Award to William E. Pelham from Florida International University.



Los Angeles for his work on stress generation theory. Psi Chi Past President Michael D. Hall, James Madison University, presented the award.



Several more outstanding graduate students were recognized by Jessica Wong, president of the APS Student Caucus. First, she presented the Student Research Award for outstanding student research to Tegan B. Garland, Arizona State University; Bridget R. Jeter, East Tennessee University; Ethan M. Mereish, Boston College; and Gal Slonim, University of Haifa, Israel.

The RISE Award, an award that honors research focused on socially and economically under-represented populations, went to Joelle Jobin, Concordia University; Roger C. McIntosh, Florida Atlantic University; Trishna Narula, Emory University; and Madeleine L. Werhane, University of Puget Sound.



Three categories of APS Lifetime Achievement Awards were bestowed at the meeting.

The Janet Taylor Spence Award for Transformative Early Career Contributions honors researchers who have made significant contributions to field of psychological science within seven years of receiving their PhD. APS Board Member Lisa Feldman Barrett introduced the diverse and accomplished group of promising researchers who received this year's award: Greg Hajcak, Stony Brook University; Aaron C. Kay, Duke University; Iris-Tatjana Kolassa, University of Ulm, Germany; Hakwan Lau, Columbia University; Tania Lombrozo, University of California, Berkeley; and Candice L. Odgers, University of California, Irvine.



Lisa Feldman Barrett and Greg Hajcak



President Medin presented the James McKeen Cattell Fellow Awards, another recognition of lifetime achievement. Given to individuals with significant achievements in applied psychological research, this year's awards were presented to David H. Barlow, Boston University; Geraldine Dawson, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and Autism Speaks; and Gail S. Goodman, University of California, Davis.





Finally, Medin honored recipients of the William James Fellow Award, the lifetime achievement award given to researchers who made significant intellectual contributions to the basic science of psychology. This year's recipients were Ellen S. Berscheid, University of Minnesota; Elaine C. Hatfield, University of Hawaii at Manoa; and Henry L. Roediger, III, Washington University in St. Louis.





Many of the recipients will give award addresses on Friday, May 25. For a schedule, talk titles and more information about the 2012 recipients, see <u>the online convention program</u>.