2020 APS Spence Recipients Announced

January 09, 2020



Eight psychological scientists have been selected as the recipients of the 2020 APS Janet Taylor Spence Award. The recipients are <u>Dylan Gee</u> (Yale University), who studies the neural mechanisms underlying emotion, anxiety, and stress-related disorders; <u>Samuel Gershman</u> (Harvard University), who studies computational modeling and reinforcement learning; <u>Hyowon Gweon</u> (Stanford University), who studies social learning and causal inferences; <u>Kathryn Humphreys</u> (Vanderbilt University), who studies the effects of early adversity, foster care, and institutional care; <u>Luke Hyde</u> (University of Michigan), who studies the developmental psychopathology of antisocial behavior in youth; <u>Nour Kteily</u> (Northwestern University), who studies how dehumanization contributes to in-group out-group behavior; <u>Amitai</u> <u>Shenhav</u> (Brown University), who studies computational neuroscience, decision-making, and neuroeconomics; and <u>Jennifer Trueblood</u> (Vanderbilt University), who studies how context influences risk-reward decision making.

Named for APS's first elected President, the <u>Spence Award</u> recognizes early-career researchers who have made transformative contributions to the field of psychological science, such as establishing new paradigms within a subject area or advancing research that cuts across fields of study. The 2020 Spence Award recipients will be profiled in an upcoming issue of the APS *Observer* and will be recognized at the <u>32nd APS Annual Convention in Chicago, May 21–24, 2020</u>.