APS Spence Awards Announced

January 29, 2020



Eight psychological scientists have been selected as the recipients of the 2020 APS Janet Taylor Spence Award. The recipients are **Dylan Gee** (Yale University), who studies the neural mechanisms underlying emotion, anxiety, and stress-related disorders; **Samuel Gershman** (Harvard University), who studies computational modeling and reinforcement learning; **Hyowon Gweon** (Stanford University), who studies social learning and causal inferences; **Kathryn Humphreys** (Vanderbilt University), who studies the effects of early adversity, foster care, and institutional care; **Luke Hyde** (University of Michigan), who studies the developmental psychopathology of antisocial behavior in youth; **Nour Kteily** (Northwestern University), who studies intergroup hierarchy and dehumanization and their role in group-based conflict; **Amitai Shenhav** (Brown University), who studies computational neuroscience, decision-making, and neuroeconomics; and **Jennifer Trueblood** (Vanderbilt University), who studies how context influences risk/reward decision making.

Named after APS's first elected President, the <u>Spence Award</u> recognizes early-career researchers who have made transformative contributions to the field of psychological science, such as establishing new paradigms within a subject area or advancing research that cuts across fields of study. The 2020 Spence Award recipients will be profiled in an upcoming issue of the APS *Observer* and will be recognized at the <u>32nd APS Annual Convention in Chicago, May 21–24, 2020</u>.