Taylor, Beck Recognized by Institute of Medicine

Shelley E. Taylor

The Institute of Medicine recently recognized Shelley E. Taylor and Aaron T. Beck for their continuing contributions to the psychological sciences.

Aaron T. Beck

Taylor, an APS Fellow and Charter Member, was one of 65 new members elected to the IOM, a part of the National Academies. New members are chosen by current members for their major contributions to the health and medicine, or its related fields, such as behavioral science. For a complete list of new members, visit the .

APS Fellow Beck was honored at the IOM 2003 Annual Meeting as the recipient of the Rhoda G. and Bernard G. Sarnat International Prize in Mental Health. Beck, professor emeritus of psychiatry at the University of Pennsylvania and an IOM member since 1997, was awarded for his therapeutic approach to cognitive theory, which has proved effective in treating various psychiatric conditions.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.
In the interest of transparency, we do not accept anonymous comments.
Required fields are marked*