Janet Taylor Spence Award Nominations

About Award | Recipients


Deadline: October 15, 2017

Nominees must be members of the Association for Psychological Science and must have completed their PhD within eight years of the date of the annual meeting at which the award would be conferred. The eligibility period may be extended for nominees who have taken leaves of absence or family leave. Such extensions will be considered on an individual basis.

Research contributions can be transformative in various ways, such as the establishment of new approaches or paradigms within a field of psychology, or the development or advancement of research that cuts across fields of psychological science. The common thread is that Award winners should reflect the best of the many new and cutting edge ideas coming out of our most creative and promising investigators who, together, embody the future of psychological science.

Letters of nomination and support should specifically address the nominee’s work with respect to the following selection criteria: (1) is the research novel and creative? (2) does the research have the potential to change how we think about psychological science? (3) is the research characterized by rigorous and innovative scientific methods? (4) does the research build upon existing psychological science in scholarly ways? (5) is the research influencing multiple fields of psychological science?

To nominate a candidate for the Janet Taylor Spence Award, please fill out this online form, including following materials:

  • Electronic Letter of Nomination specifically addressing the selection criteria listed above
  • The nominee’s current curriculum vitae
  • PDF’s of the nominee’s work indicating the most important contributions to psychological science (not more than 10 papers) emailed as attachments to awards@psychologicalscience.org
  • Two letters of recommendation, at least one of which is from an APS Fellow.

Please submit all nomination materials electronically to the APS Janet Taylor Spence Award Committee via the online nomination form or by email at awards@psychologicalscience.org

Janet Taylor Spence Award Committee

  • Cristina Cacciari, Chair, Università di Modena e Reggio Emilia, Italy
  • Tammy D. Allen, University of South Florida, USA
  • Aaron C. Kay, Duke University, USA
  • Yulia Kovas, Goldsmiths, University of London, UK
  • Ethan F. Kross, University of Michigan, USA
  • Angelica Ronald, Birkbeck, University of London, UK
  • Leah H. Somerville, Harvard University, USA