Association for Psychological Science 22nd Annual Convention: Boston, MA

American College of Professional Neuropsychology

ACPN Workshop: Introduction to Neuropsychological Assessment

Thursday May 27, 2010, 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM - Republic Ballroom A

Robert W. Elliott
American College of Professional Neuropsychology

This workshop will focus on various aspects of neuropsychological assessment as an introduction to this area. Clinical neuropsychology is an applied science which is concerned with the relationship between the brain and behavior. It integrates the fields of clinical psychology and behavioral neurology and attempts to evaluate individuals suspected of having focal or diffuse brain dysfunction. Neuropsychological assessment utilizes specialized psychological tests to evaluate a wide variety of cognitive functions and behaviors that are dependent on the structural and functional integrity of the brain.

Robert W. Elliott earned a PhD in Counseling Psychology from the University of Southern California and completed a post-doctoral fellowship in Clinical Psychology at the Long Beach Neuropsychiatric Institute. He holds diplomats in both Clinical Neuropsychology and School Psychology from the American Board of Professional Psychology (ABPP) and a diplomat in Clinical Neuropsychology from the American Board of Professional Neuropsychology (ABN). He is a Fellow of the American College of Professional Neuropsychology (ACPN). Dr. Elliott is a past-president of both ABN and the National Academy of Neuropsychology and has received many honors and awards for his contributions to clinical neuropsychology. Dr. Elliott is currently in the independent practice of clinical neuropsychology in Los Angeles, California.

2010 Program Committee
Tyler S. Lorig, Washington and Lee University (Chair); Nalini Ambady, Tufts University; Abigail Baird, Vassar College; Sian Beilock, University of Chicago; Daniel Klein, Stony Brook University, The State University of New York; Richard Lewis, Pomona College; Kris Preacher, University of Kansas; Deidra Schleicher, Purdue University; Timothy Strauman, Duke University; Tracy Zinn, James Madison University